Opinion writing lessons 4th grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by newteacher14, Dec 3, 2015.

1. newteacher14

newteacher14 Rookie

Dec 3, 2015

Hi all! I am a first year teacher and I am looking for some help with lessons for teaching opinion writing to my students.

I'm planning on starting out by posing a question (something like do you like cats or dogs better, and why) then having students discuss and do a quickwrite. Then, I was going ask my students what they think "opinion" means, and chart their ideas. I was planning on spending a bit of time discussing the difference between fact and opinion and doing an activity to reinforce that.

I am wondering if anyone has any advice on where to go next in my opinion writing plans....I know I need to get into reasons and evidence and I'd like my 4th graders to be able to write 5 paragraph essays with 3+ reasons and evidence. I'm just at a loss on where to go next after the plans I have already created. I'm totally open to suggestions and critique. Thank you so much in advance.

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Dec 4, 2015

I would work on the body paragraphs first. Ask them each to make a list of responses to a question such as, "Why is a _____ your favorite pet?" Have them choose their top three reasons and explain each of them. Show them how to elaborate on each explanation. Then, help them use each explanation as a body paragraph with an intro sentence and closing sentence. Model good intro and closing paragraphs and have them try those after the body is done. This won't come easily or quickly!

4. newteacher14

newteacher14 Rookie

Dec 4, 2015

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 4, 2015

Brainstorm lists:
    Things you want to change
    Things you want
    Things you want to stop or start
    Problems

6. teacherguy111

teacherguy111 Cohort

Dec 7, 2015

Hello,