Opening activities?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by Rainbowbird, Aug 28, 2013.

1. Rainbowbird

Rainbowbird Groupie

Aug 28, 2013

Arrival activities?

I am new to preK and hired last minute. What sorts of things do you have the kids do on arrival? I'm thinking puzzles, books, or a coloring page.

I had Open House this morning. Parents and kids were told it was a drop in event but almost everyone came at 9 and stayed the entire two hours! Despite my encouragement, all but two parents ignored my activity (a quick drawing and writing activity for them to do together) so for two hours I had parents visiting and kids using all the toys and stuff in the room. They cleaned up and I'm not upset that the kids used the toys, obviously 3 and 4 year olds in a room for two hours will do that!

My concern now when the kids come in next week for school, they are naturally going to immediately pull out all the toys again. I am planning to have table activities out and my assistant and I will tell the children that it is not time yet for centers and toys, yet.

Should I have not allowed them to use the toys during open house? That just didn't feel right, but now I feel I've set myself up for a problem on the first day of school.

Any advice? Thanks!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 28, 2013

When i taught PreK, I had tub choice out in the morning as kids trickled in.

4. Preschool0929

Preschool0929 Cohort

Aug 28, 2013

I typically find that my impression of kids at open house and what they do in that unstructured few hours, doesn't usually translate to what we do at school, so I wouldn't worry about it!