Open House

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by MissKinderK, Jul 30, 2010.

1. MissKinderK

MissKinderK Rookie

Jul 30, 2010

Hi All :D I just received an e-mail from the principal informing us of an open house we are required to hold in our rooms the saturday before school starts. For me, that's less than three weeks away! It will last all day 830AM-330PM, so I am assuming it is an open-door type of situation, and parents and students come in to meet me. Being that this is my first year - I'm nervous! What should I have prepared? Should I have things out for the students in case many show up at one time? Should I have hand-outs for the parents? Please Help:confused::unsure: Thank you!

3. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Jul 30, 2010

Wow! A Sat and all that time.
    You would have time for a scavenger hunt around the room for the kids as they come in.
    I normally have crayons and a coloring sheet on each students desk.
    Candy set out in a bowl for parents.
    I have all of my volunteer and student info sheets out that the parents can fill out.
    Its basically a time to just meet the kids and parents. Nothing too formal yet.

4. Hoot Owl

Hoot Owl Aficionado

Jul 30, 2010

I'd have as many beginning of the school papers in stacks, we have insurance forms, free-lunch forms, and a gillion other forms to distribute. Get addresses, email addresses, and phone numbers from parents and if you plan on taking pictures for a Shutterfly account or something like that get permission forms signed. Find out if their child is a car rider or bus kid. Keep a check-off list of who picked up what.

Many times parents will come in with all their kids, I've had them running all over my classroom so you might want to set up something to entertain those extras... perhaps a puzzle or blocks of some sort.

5. teacherSMK

teacherSMK Habitué

Jul 30, 2010

hoot owl, I am stealing that number "a gillion"....I like it a lot...