Open House ideas?

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by corps2005, Aug 2, 2008.

1. corps2005

corps2005 Cohort

Aug 2, 2008

This is my first year having to participate in Open House. We didn't have Open House at my previous school.

Should I plan some activities? What are some good activities or things to do at Open House for first grade?

What will it be like? Are there any tips or suggestions?

3. Iris228

Iris228 Rookie

Aug 2, 2008

I'd be interested in knowing what others do as well. Thankfully, the other first grade teachers in my school have a system that they use.. I'm told they'll fill me in so that I can do what they do! I don't know what all that entails yet, but am glad that I have someone to go to with a plan! I've had to participate in parent conferences and an open house during the year (because I worked in a private K--and it was mostly lead by the director of my school), but never a back to school night.... and truthfully am a bit nervous!

4. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

Aug 2, 2008

I usually have a small scavenger hunt set up with things like:
    meet your teacher
    find your cubbie
    find your mailbox
    find your seat
    get a procedural handout
    fill out the emergency card

General stuff like that... when they finish, they can go to the Treasure Box.

We also have a fall conference schedule sign up sheet on the board for those parents who have more than one child and can just sign up in both classes right then.

Ours is set up for a couple hours so the parents kinda just roam around from room to room, so I can't prepare a speech or something like that. I just get to stand there and meet the parents and children who come in!

5. kimberd

kimberd Rookie

Aug 2, 2008

I'm in middle school, and we have an upcoming "Meet the Teacher" night. I'm really not sure what to expect or what to do. I also just realized how much more I need to buy to decorate my classroom with. I'm in panic mode now...

6. lemonhead