Open house & first day of school tips.

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by storyh, Jul 4, 2007.

1. storyh

storyh Companion

Jul 4, 2007

Hi all. I will be teaching 3rd grade at charter school in the fall. This is my first year in the classroom and have never done open house or the typical 1st day of school. Any suggestions? :thanks:

3. Sterlingrio

Sterlingrio Rookie

Jul 4, 2007

One year, as I realized that parents of children with special needs (severe) and Hispanic/Latino parents like to feel a more personal connection with the teacher (parents tend to open up more) I created a digital story about my family and life and on open house, when invitations were sent out, the parents were invited to come by and watch the story on the computer (our open house was during school hours), this way the parents didn't "have to feel like they were interrupting" the class activities and could actually watch me interact with their child out of the corner of their eye as they watched "my" digital story. At then end of the year I made a digital story for each student.

You can make a digital story about anything-- i.e what you expect students to learn, what your philosophy is about education-- the cool thing is you can burn your story to dvd or cd and send it home with students whose parents did not attend open house (if it's on dvd they can pop it in their dvd player and find out what they missed). You can make digital stories for free using PhotoStory 3 software from Microsoft.- free download from their website.

4. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jul 4, 2007

PhotoStory is a wonderful program!