Online Masters anyone?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MsMar, Jun 8, 2013.

1. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Jun 8, 2013

Just curious if anyone is working on a Masters online and how it's going. I have my Masters Equivalency so I'll get Masters pay next year once my school board approves it (I've actually had it for a year now but we were without a contract for most of this year and Masters bumps will finally happen in Deb 2014), but I can't do "Masters plus..." with the equivalency to bump my pay. So, I'm thinking of possibly doing an online program, preferably cheaply, so that I can then add credits on to that when I'm done. I found a few online programs (Fort Hays, American College of Education, Lamar) that would cost me about $9,000 for the Masters.

Is anyone in these programs, or another one that is also on the inexpensive side? I know the quality of the classes with the all online schools aren't always great, but at this point, quick and non-expensive is my main criteria. I would see no extra salary pay until after I get the Masters and then pay for more classes on top of it, so if it's too costly of a program it's not really worth it.

Thanks for any advice or info you can share.

3. Pencil Monkey

Pencil Monkey Devotee

Jun 8, 2013

I did mine through Walden with another forum member. I'm not sure if she is still around these days. It was great and I would recommend Walden to anyone.

4. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Jun 8, 2013

I'm in a completely online Masters program. The university I'm taking it from is one of my state universities, so it's a brick & mortar school too. I began in 2011 & will graduate in 2014. The area of study is the very rigorous MS in communication disorders & sciences program.