Online Engagement Strategies?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Dkans22, Mar 9, 2021.

1. Dkans22

Dkans22 New Member

Mar 9, 2021

What are some ways that have been beneficial in engaging the students and building motivation in a virtual setting?

I am currently a student in college studying music education and wanted to see if I could get any input on different engagement strategies that have worked for you through online learning, so that I could implement into my lessons now and in the future.

Any and all comments are greatly appreciated!

MrTempest likes this.
  3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Mar 10, 2021

After teaching online for a long time, I've found the key to engaging students in distance learning is to form a personal relationship with them. Make a lot of phone calls. Try to find out their birthdays. Keep your webcam on so they have a face for accountability. In other words, find ways to create the same bonds you would form in person.

MrTempest, Kiki319 and otterpop like this.
  4. Dominic Thomas

Dominic Thomas New Member

Mar 19, 2021

thank you very much for the recommendations. It seems to me that in the matter of education and its improvement, it will be very useful to write various reasoned essays that will allow college or university students to reveal not only their creativity, but also learn how to give quality arguments. On the site https://gradesfixer.com/essay-types/argumentative-essays/ you can see how to write well-reasoned essays correctly.

Last edited: Mar 29, 2021
  5. otterpop

otterpop Phenom

Mar 19, 2021

1. Cold call to keep them involved.
    2. As an opposite strategy, ask them to use the hand raise button if they want to read/answer.
    3. Ask them to comment in the chat with any info (what you had for breakfast, what you’re doing this weekend, etc.) to get them participating.

MrTempest likes this.
  6. HellyDouglas

HellyDouglas Rookie

Mar 24, 2021

For engagement: