On The Job Hunt Again - Portfolio Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Kat03785, Apr 22, 2012.

1. Kat03785

Kat03785 Rookie

Apr 22, 2012

So after working for 4 years at the same school, I unexpectedly learned last week that they are not renewing my contract for next year. I was told I am a good teacher but "Kindergarten is not going in the direction that we want it to go" (I could write a whole post on this alone so I won't go into details.) Now I'm on the job hunt for the first time as an experienced teacher and need some advice.

My question is what kinds of things should I include in my portfolio for interviewing? The last time I made a portfolio was when I was student teaching so any advice would be helpful. We still have over a month left in school so if there are any ideas for lessons that I could do with the kids that would look good in a portfolio that would be super helpful as well. Thanks!

3. Xidous003

Xidous003 Companion

Apr 23, 2012

I would research Google for portfolio ideas. Personally, I have never made one, but if I did I would try to model other great portfolios I saw online.

4. leighbball

leighbball Virtuoso

Apr 23, 2012

I would include student work, lessons with a reflection that demonstrate your teaching skills, copies of newsletters you've sent home, pictures, etc.

5. HeatherY

HeatherY Habitué

Apr 24, 2012

I made up some complete lesson plan+all worksheets or handouts+student work on that lesson+photos of kids doing that lesson. I think it is nice to have a complete package of all of that together.

6. mommy3boys

mommy3boys Companion

Apr 24, 2012

So sorry to hear about that. I wish you the very best in your job hunt.

:)

7. Vinsanity

Vinsanity Rookie

Apr 24, 2012

I'm not big on portfolios, but people are getting more and more creative with electronic portfolios - those can be eye catching.