On level vs advanced

Discussion in 'Sixth Grade' started by Croissant, Jul 24, 2011.

1. Croissant

Croissant Comrade

Jul 24, 2011

Hi all!

I am a first year teacher, and I will be teaching 6th grade writing. I am going to have several "on level" classes as well as a couple of "advanced" classes. I plan to take the first couple of weeks to feel out the situation and kind of decide for myself how on level or advanced they are before I start deciding how to differentiate, but I was wondering what others who are in this position do.

How do your lessons differ between the classes? Do you do something completely different with your advanced classes, go into more detail, or just move more quickly? I was always a fairly advanced student, but I dropped out of several AP classes because the only difference between AP and on level was that AP classes did extra work. I don't want my advanced students to think they are being punished for being "smart," and I don't want my on level students to feel like they don't get to do the fun things the advanced classes do. I would love some advice! Help!

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jul 24, 2011

An advanced writing class may have more to a writing piece. For instance, you might give your on level class the information to write a paper, but expect your advanced class to come up with the paper.

You might assign a topic and starter to your on level, but provide more choice and less structure for your advanced.

The grammar skills and writing skills may be different or the same depending on the group of students.

4. Aussiegirl

Aussiegirl Habitué

Jul 24, 2011