Older and chasing a dream to teach~

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Teacherman17, Nov 12, 2015.

1. Teacherman17

Teacherman17 Rookie

Nov 12, 2015

Hey guys...first post here. Hope I'm in the right place to post this. First a little background on me. Im 49 at the moment. When I graduated from high school a hundred years ago, my dream then was to go to college and become a teacher and a coach. I started out just fine, sen went to college to play football and get my degree. Well, needless to say, life got all in my way and I had to drop out. Ive never quit anything in my life except that.

For the time since then, all I have thought about, through job after job is teaching and coachng. It literally has consumed my mind for years. Overtime I thought I was going to start back to school, something happened and I couldn't. Well, this time, its way different! Im going back, and I'm going to teach!

I told you all of that to tell you this...I registered for school yesterday. I started at my local community college registration and got my classes for the Spring semester. I then went to KSU (the school i will transfer to once I get the rest of my general education classes finished) to make sure that the classes that I registered for would transfer to my major, and to try to narrow down what I wanted to teach.

The academic advisor at KSU helped me to realize that I don't think that I want to teach the early childhood grades (Pre-K - grade 4). Im leaning toward middle grades to secondary education which will allow me to teach in the middle schools or high schools. BUT...I have now spoken with several early grade teachers who have me thinking about the early grades again. Needless to say, i am now more confused than ever about what I want to do.