Old man looking to teach??

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ra0828, Nov 10, 2011.

1. ra0828

ra0828 New Member

Nov 10, 2011

Hey guys! Let me explain what my post heading means. I am 45 years of age at the moment. I have taken some basic education classes out of high school (about 18 hours so far). I want to go back to school to fulfill my dream of teaching and coaching high school. I have had this dream since I graduated from high school but never finished school because life got in the way. Well, as of now, I have been thinking long and hard about going back and finishing my education and doing what I have always wanted to do.

I guess my questions are...would I be too old to of this? Ill be 48-49 when I graduate. Would a school system hire someone my age with no experience? Is it worth it for me? I love writing and reading and would want to teach English. Is there a good chance that I could get a job with that major? I would want to teach middle to high school so secondary education with an English major would be my area.

Any thoughts?

3. Mrs. K.

Mrs. K. Enthusiast

Nov 10, 2011

Welcome! I'm a second career teacher who started teaching at the age of 48, and I'm in my tenth year. Things were a bit different back then--now you're going to be facing stiff competition. English is probably the least in-demand major, unfortunately.

That being said...if you're passionate and feel called to teaching (and it is a calling), go for it. You can bring a lot of life experience and maturity to your teaching. (Sometimes my students ask, "Mrs. K, how come you know so much?" I tell them I've been alive a long time, and I've paid attention. :))