Okay, what are your first day plans?

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by hojalata, Aug 19, 2007.

1. hojalata

hojalata Comrade

Aug 19, 2007

I've finally come to terms with the fact that school starts very soon and I need to decide what I am doing my first day. (It's a half day) This is my first time teaching 1st. I know we will go over procedures a lot (the whole week), but I'm not sure what else. What are your plans/activities for the first day? I need some inspiration :)

3. teach1st

teach1st Comrade

Aug 19, 2007

Read Alouds, Math Review, Letter Review. Check out the Playdough forum. There is an awesome idea involving playdough for the first day. I used the idea and my students absolutely LOVED it.

4. snickydog

snickydog Groupie

Aug 19, 2007

I am curious, too! I taught middle school last year, and I'm going to be teaching first this year (yay! I student taught first, but during the winter when the students had already been in their room for a few months). I would love some ideas as well. :)

5. 1stGr8

1stGr8 Companion

Aug 20, 2007

I read The Kissing Hand. We discuss our feelings about coming to school, etc. Then I use blank puzzles and they make a handprint puzzle with a heart in the middle to take home. A lot of the day is procedures. I also usually do a first grade poem to introduce our poetry books. We read the poem and introduce the term "visualize". They then glue it in their journals.

6. knittingbec

knittingbec Comrade

Aug 20, 2007

I'll be reading a few books aloud throughout the day- 1st Day Jitters, Chrysanthemum, Officer Buckle & Gloria. We'll be practicing over and over again one at a time and two at a time how to put things away when we enter the classroom, how to get a new pencil, how to go to the bathroom (you know what I mean)... it seems like it's stuff they shouldn't need to practice, but they do!