Oh man...what might I get myself into?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by hemster, Mar 11, 2008.

1. hemster

hemster Rookie

Mar 11, 2008

I just found this board and was reading through it a bit. I have an interview set up next week for teaching middle school science. It would be my first teaching job. Does anybody here like teaching? It looks like a lot of doom and gloom type posts.

For the past 8 years, I have been a professional wildlife biologist at an environmental consulting firm. While I see a lot of great endgangered species and ecosystems, my job is ultimaltey to help my developer clients get rid of the issues (legally) and develop the land. I originally got into the environmental field to make a difference..not save to polar bears, just make a small difference and get a feeling personal satisfaction when I go home. My current job gives me nothing to personally enjoy.

I taught at an environmental education center years ago and enjoyed it. My wife has been a teacher for a few years, and has her moments of loving it and hating it. I know it is a very hard and stressful job, but it can be very rewarding.

I am excited about making a potential career change, and a bit nervous as well.

Are there any other people who made a career jump into teaching that are happy/unhappy with their choice?

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Mar 11, 2008

First, welcome to AtoZ, hemster!

This time of year is trying for a lot of teachers which might account for the type of posts that you're reading. It'll be different in May and towards the beginning of the year. Some of it might have to deal with the type of administration and support the teacher gets. A supportive staff always makes teaching better!

My sister received her bachelors degree in Pre-med. She's now a 2nd grade teacher and loves it! A lot of people on this board are career changers and they'll be able to give you their own opinions. I changed my major while still in school to education.