Oh boy, Boys!

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by eyeteach, Feb 3, 2010.

1. eyeteach

eyeteach Rookie

Feb 3, 2010

I have been teaching for about 10 years. A few years ago, I had to fill in for a teacher for two months for a class of 10 boys and no girls. Ever since then, I do not care too much for a classroom full of boys. I would much rather have a classroom of 10 girls. I wish I could change this and I have been trying. I lose my patience quicker with boys and I tend to be less lenient on them too compared to girls. I try not to pay any more attention to the girls than the boys, but guess who wants to be around me all of the time? The girls. Does anyone else have any gender bias?:dizzy:

3. dogs&teaching

dogs&teaching Comrade

Feb 3, 2010

I have been guilty of it. However, I have come to the conclusion that girls can be just as much of a pain as boys, if not worse.

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Feb 3, 2010

I teach much older kids, and, if I had to choose, I would pick boys in a heartbeat.

5. amaran20

amaran20 Rookie

Feb 3, 2010

I think I have the gender bias opposite of you! I teach autistic PreK, so the majority of my students are boys and I love it! But my situation is slightly different...

6. WaProvider

WaProvider Fanatic

Feb 3, 2010

I love it when MY classroom is full of boys. I don't think subbing in one would be fun. My boys like to have the routine of the mannerisms of the teachers. When it is clean up she says it this specific way-and crosses her arms like this-and then I know.

The girls little quirks make me crazy. So I have to work at my bias the other than you.

I think many people would prefer one to another, it just depends on if you are professional in your room or not in despite of the liking. It sounds like you are.

7. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Feb 3, 2010