Odd Habits at My New School

Discussion in 'High School' started by ptlanguage, Jan 6, 2017.

1. ptlanguage

ptlanguage Rookie

Jan 6, 2017

I am a teacher of thirty years. I recently moved to a new community and a new school. There are two odd habits that take place at my new school. I wanted to know if these are common in other schools. I have never dealt with these two situations, and they are annoying to me. Let's see what the rest of you think!
    #1: When I am finished with class (about 3 or 4 minutes before the bell rings), the students want to gather their things and go stand at the door to wait for the bell to ring. I have never had students do this. Usually students just stay seated in their seat - the bell rings - and then they get up and leave the room. And, yes, students have plenty of time to get from class to class. #2: Students bring their "cozy" blankets to school and have them draped around them all day. Our school does not have a problem with heat. The rooms are warm and each teacher has a thermostat. I have asked the students if both situations are commonplace in this school and they look at me like "why of course, what's the problem." They have told me that at the middle school they are not allowed to have their blankets, and they think that is so unfair. Both are not that big of a deal, but I think both are just so weird. So what do you guys think?

3. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jan 6, 2017

The students wanting to end class early is a problem. The bell doesn't dismiss them; it reminds YOU to dismiss them. Sounds like a good wrap-up / anticipation activity in the final five minutes of class would do you a world of good. I would let the blanket thing go. Some of my own students love to drape blankets over themselves, to the point I've started keeping a couple of extra shawls in my classroom.

4. Bioguru

Bioguru Companion

Jan 6, 2017

I think you must have moved to my school!