Obtaining A First Year Teaching Job

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Jenni, Jul 31, 2007.

1. Jenni

Jenni Rookie

Jul 31, 2007

Alright, so I graduated in May. I am 23 and looking for my first Elementary Education teaching job. I have a K-8 general elementary education degree with no extra endorsements. I do not have middle school cert. which limits me to only K-5 in my area. My concentration is in Spanish, all this means is I have 18 credit hours of college level Spanish. I however am not fluent.

With this, I am getting to the point where I am not sure how else to promote myself. So far I have had 3 interviews for 3 different districts. One had a 2nd and 5th opening, one had a position for a 5th-8th Spanish teacher and the other had a 2nd grade gifted position. I have not heard back from any of the interviewers. It's been about 4 weeks from the Spanish position but it is still posted as being needed. The school with the 2nd and 5th said it would be this week before I heard from them and the last I interviewed for today and they said before the end of the week I'd know.

I am not confident I will be getting any of the positions seeing as the district with the 2nd and 5th is really the only one I feel I am even qualified for.

What I did in an effort to find a job, is I applied online for the county I am in. Then I sent 34 cover letters and resumes out to 37 different districts 17 in my county 17 outside. I got several letters back saying they had no openings but would keep me on file. And the 3 calls. What else can I do? I really want to remain no more than an hour from home. How can I find a job in a very competitive area? There are several positions open but I do not seem to be getting as many calls as I’d like. Does anyone have any tips for a frustrated recent graduate? It's August on Wednesday and I am not closer to a job then I was in May.

3. Lyquidphyre

Lyquidphyre Comrade

Jul 31, 2007