Observed during Centers/Guided Reading

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by MusicMaker, Oct 23, 2006.

1. MusicMaker

MusicMaker Rookie

Oct 23, 2006

I'm being formally observed tomorrow during literacy centers and guided reading time. Does anyone have advice for observations? I'm extremely nervous about it and typically shy, so being observed by another adult makes me kinda shut down, and I'm trying to push myself not to do so.

We'll just be finishing snack and then going into centers. What do you say exactly to them before they start centers...I want to make sure that my directions are clear, so that I can prevent behavior problems before they start.

I'm a first year teacher and I'm not sure if I am doing things in an effective manner.

I think my biggest fear is not managing centers well enough. I play music when it is time to switch centers, but I feel that things are still chaotic.

:confused:

3. NELNaples

NELNaples Rookie

Oct 23, 2006

Observation

:) What do you normally do during this time?

I would say make sure you are doing all the proper procedures - contact paper them to your table.

Also, for transitions I use windchimes but a lot of teachers use timers (someone always breaks mine). The kids go back to their seats after cleaning up then I send them one group at a time to their next center. I too am a new teacher (this is like my 3rd week with my students) and it is early in the year so I don't just send them to their centers.

Hope this is helpful. :)

4. zplok

zplok Rookie

Oct 23, 2006

I've been teaching for 30 years and have always been told to make it simple. Administrators need to see how you introduce and present the material, do you provide for practice time, are there some type of manipulatives and technology, and how do you bring the lesson to a close.
    Good Luck!! You'll do great!!!
    :)

5. lteach2

lteach2 Cohort

Oct 24, 2006