NY City Teachers need advice on how to get a job please!! Catholic or Public school

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by SpringGirl14, Apr 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SpringGirl14

SpringGirl14 Rookie

Apr 29, 2010

I am currently finishing my Masters in Childhood EDU general education. If I can secure a job, before September, I don't have to do student teaching, otherwise I do, which I dread because I will be out an income and only with one, my husbands. I have no teaching experience, other then working at a catholic elementary school after school program. I went to catholic school my entire life so would not mind teaching in a catholic school despite the pay cut.

I emailed the principal of the catholic school I worked at years ago asking her if I can come up and meet with her. She told me I could meet with her but flat out said in the email that getting a job in a catholic or public school right now it nearly impossible, though there's always the chance. I was a little taken back and am now really scared that I am not going to find a job and have wasted all this money and time on nothing. She said I can some up and meet with her the end of May which I am. Another classmate suggested I just take a day off from work and go up to catholic schools handing in my resume. But with no experience, except office work that I currently do, what do I put on my resume? She got a job last year at a Catholic school with no teaching experience or degree because she knew someone. Also, just showing up at schools seems risky to me. Can anyone suggest how I can get a teaching job in a catholic, private , public (there is stilla freeze) or any school at this point? Or should I just do my student teaching and wait until I graduate, next December, WHICH IS WORSE BECAUSE IT'S MID YEAR!!! Please any suggestions from teachers or soon to be? This is in NY City and I will teach in Brooklyn, Staten Island, Queens or Manhattan.

3. teacher36