Novel Study

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by just-n-educator, Apr 16, 2009.

1. just-n-educator

just-n-educator Companion

Apr 16, 2009

Hello All,

I looking for a novel to do with my 3rd graders. I have never done grade 3 before, so I am not sure which novel would be good for my grade. Could I get some ideas PLEASE?

3. becky

becky Enthusiast

Apr 16, 2009

Jeannie and I have done the Ramona series, and we're currently in Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.

4. kacieann

kacieann Companion

Apr 18, 2009

The Chocolate Touch is great. I just finished this unit in my classroom. The students really enjoy the story and seems to keep their interest even at the end of the year. I also like the fact that you can incorporate the novel unit in reading, math, writing and science.

5. nattles19

nattles19 Comrade

Apr 18, 2009

The Magic Finger by Roald Dahl might be a good choice for your first try at this. It's short and entertaining, and if your students have any prior experiences with Roald Dahl they should be excited to read it.

6. sharon122

sharon122 Rookie

May 25, 2009

I just finished doing Charlotte's Web with my class. Our literacy coach helped set up a wonderful notebook full of great ideas. Let me know if you want it!
    Sharon

7. dannyboy

dannyboy Companion

May 26, 2009

Any Ramona, Junie B. Jones, Roald Dahl, Amber Brown, Babysitters Club book.

8. kidsr#1

kidsr#1 Companion

May 27, 2009

My class liked Chocolate Fever, The Mouse and the Motorcycle series (probably best towards the end of the year- a little difficult), and Stone Fox.

9. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

May 28, 2009

The Phantom Tollbooth went over pretty well.

10. Ellensmom

Ellensmom Companion

Jun 24, 2009