Note taking methods?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Historyct, Aug 8, 2016.

1. Historyct

Historyct Rookie

Aug 8, 2016

Hello,

Last year was my first year of teaching, and the special education teacher with whom I worked emphasized that I provide students with a print out of my PowerPoint slides so that they could fill in the blanks to take notes.

Although this method was easy for students, I found that it was a BIG waste of paper and that it promoted rote learning more than anything else.

When I was a student, I was always expected to take notes independently from what the teacher was saying or presenting. This no longer seems to be the expectation, at least where I teach.

I wish, however, that I could have students do more of the latter than the former.

What type of note taking methods do you use in your classroom that are based more on independent learning than note taking via fill in the blank? Keep in mind that I only have students take notes for 10-15 minutes a day.

3. geoteacher

geoteacher Devotee

Aug 8, 2016

I really like Cornell. I will be teaching it again this fall.

Peregrin5 likes this.
  4. HistoryTeach4

HistoryTeach4 Rookie

Aug 9, 2016

I work in special education and my first year I had them fill in the blanks on the print outs to. I then moved on to highlighting the important information in my copy so that was all they copied down, instead of printing out the whole PP. I no longer make students take notes. I have noticed, with the population I work with, they get more from reading the notes and doing constant checking for understanding exercises than they did when taking notes.

5. Rockguykev

Rockguykev Connoisseur

Aug 14, 2016

Fill in the blank notes are not very effective at all as you found. I would second the argument for Cornell notes - in particular the question column.