Not your grandmother’s student art show?

Discussion in 'Art Teachers' started by Stuart R, Mar 3, 2018.

1. Stuart R

Stuart R New Member

Mar 3, 2018

Hello all –

I’m actually a Fine & Performing Arts chair at a K-12 school that has its annual studio arts exhibition coming up in mid-May. My background is in music and theater, which tends to make me see events of any kind as performances. I’ll be meeting with our art teachers in a week or two to brainstorm ideas for our show, but thought I’d come here first to see what wonderful, creative ideas experienced art teachers enjoy sharing.

First, the basics: the main show will be in a (wait for it…) cafeteria, though it is a cafeteria with a nice stage at one end, theatrical lighting, and a tall vaulted ceiling with exposed wooden beams. We’ve got 20-25 rolling walls, each 4 to 8 feet wide and 8 feet tall. These are painted black, but the surface is so hard that you can’t stick a pushpin into it, so I’m thinking of making “skins” for them using foam insulation panels and black fabric so they’ll be friendlier to work with.

I expect that we will be hanging a lot of student artwork on these rolling walls, and setting a lot of it on tables – some with mini-easels, some with zig-zagging, panels, and some with levels made from boxes covered with tablecloths. That’s all good.

Where I want to get creative is in considering the attendee’s overall experience. The could walk into a cafeteria, and view a lot of tables and displays of lower school art in one area, middle school art in another, and high school art in another. Very traditional and predictable, and the kind of thing that makes my brain, at least, shut off after a few minutes of sameness.

I am wondering how we can make the art show more of an engaging experience. Here are some of the ideas and questions that have randomly popped into my head so far:
    • Is there a way to make this a journey or an adventure for those who attend?