not subbing enough

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by Pickleodeon, Nov 14, 2009.

1. Pickleodeon

Pickleodeon Rookie

Nov 14, 2009

Hi, I'm brand spanking new to this forum. I have a subbing job at a middle and elementary school, the district that I graduated from. I just got back from hiking for 6 months in September, so I missed the window to apply for a full-time (art) teaching position (I knew that going into it). Now that I'm back, I've only applied to sub at this one district because last year I subbed for about a month this time of year and got called almost everyday. I was working weekends then too, and got hired full-time there and quit subbing.

Last week subbing I didn't get called once. People keep telling me to go to more districts, but I just don't think it's worth all the hassle. Find a district that needs subs, apply and fill out gobs and gobs of paperwork, find the school district, find the school, find the office, get hired, find the classroom, try to remember 2 students' names, REPEAT at several other schools.

I already know the district I'm in, for the most part, as far as schedules and arrival and dismissal and things go. I know some of the teachers there and feel semi-comfortable. As unpredictable as subbing is, I feel like it's a tiny bit easier at least knowing my way around the school itself. I'm not exactly the most outgoing person when it comes to new schools, teachers, etc.

So, where am I going with this? Well, since I don't sub everyday, and subbing just feels like a hassle most days- trying to figure out the teacher's plans, hoping that I called in the morning, trying to figure out what my paycheck is going to be every time.. I'm wondering if it'd just be easier to get a 9-5 everyday job. I like consistency, and once I have my own classroom, I'll have more control over that, but until then, I'd just like to work steadily.