Not smart enough to be a teacher?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by want2t, Dec 12, 2009.

1. want2t

want2t Rookie

Dec 12, 2009

Sometimes I really tend to doubt myself. I graduated high school 8 years ago. Grade wise, I had a hard time in elementary school, but did much better in high school. As of now, I have a very good GPA, but I have a very hard time remembering the stuff I learn.I feel like I should know more about...well everything. I always compare myself to my husband, who is a big nerd! :) To top it all off, I sometimes have a difficult time pronouncing some words (a problem I have always had).

I believe some of it has to do with being a stay-at-home mom. I love it, but my brain feels so mushy! So, my question for you....did you or do you ever feel like this? How much prep do you have to do for the lessons you teach (especially during your first year)? I feel like I would have to spend so much time reviewing some of the concepts that I would teach.

I'm tired of not believing in myself...but it is hard when the only person who does is a 3-year-old!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 12, 2009

Teachers should be intelligent, educated people. If you feel that you do not fit this criteria,maybe you need a little 'brushing up'. You might find ''school" more manageable and be more successful the second time around. As a stay-at-home mom-think about it, don't you want someone who 'knows their stuff' teaching YOUR children? Expect no less of yourself.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Dec 13, 2009

If you think that being a SAHM is turning your brain to mush, DO something about it.

Do volunteer work; you'll talk to people of differing backgrounds and widen your horizon.

Read the paper every single day, and do the crossword. You'l be surprised at how it gets you thinking.

Join, or start, a book club.

Take a class at the local community college. Or adult ed in your local district.