Not ready to student teach...Help...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by heyitssteph, Feb 4, 2015.

1. heyitssteph

heyitssteph Rookie

Feb 4, 2015

Hi everyone,

I am currently a grad student in a very intense, full time, one year masters program in education. I like the school and the teacher that I was given for my student teaching placement. However - I am not at all feeling ready for this. I have had to take a full course load with prerequisites (extra courses) this year while managing a job. The school and program have been putting extra pressure on me since I have had to take extra classes and meet tight deadlines that do not apply to all students in the program. Lately I am having trouble keeping up. My grades are slipping and I'm still working my behind off to just get everything done. I am supposed to be student teaching in a school and classroom with many high needs students. I feel like every week the program is ramping up the pressure when I am already in way over my head. I can continue with the program without following the one year sequence but is this the right call? Just to make this clear I am NOT doubting whether or not I should be a teacher just whether or not I need to proceed with student teaching. I also have chronic anxiety and have had a recent bout of major depression, while I am taking medication and feeling some improvement, I don't know if I want to put my mental health at major risk right now. Can anyone out there relate?

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Feb 4, 2015