Not a question, just need to rant a bit.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by miss-m, Dec 17, 2014.

1. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Dec 17, 2014

I've been subbing for a few months now. I've had a few classes that were just crazy, but today is a first. I've been subbing this class since Monday and while the class hasn't been super great, the "trouble" kids have been pretty ok.

Today though, I told two students they owed me an extra minute at recess for taking WAY too long in the bathroom (I warned them ahead of time that this would be the consequence because if I don't time them they take FOREVER). So anyway, I told these two boys that because they were playing in the bathroom. One of the boys was one of the behavior kids that I need to write a note for his mom every day. He got mad and as we're walking back into the room I hear him mutter, "I'm going to punch the teacher. Mean teachers, meanie substitute." And other rude things. I turn and look at him, and say, "Do you need to go to the office?" He said yes, and I'm like "Yeah, I think so too. That's not ok." So I'm writing the office referral (which I've never done before -- I don't really like sending kids to the office because I feel it reflects badly on my classroom management), and he is STILL making rude comments! "Hurry up! Come ooooon."
    I'm just like... EXCUSE ME?! This is a second grader!! I've never ever had a kid be THAT rude to me. I know I'm a substitute and I've had kids just flat out ignore me, but holy cow.

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Dec 17, 2014

Oppositional defiance, concern over what consequence mom may hand out, and being in second grade - take your pick - it all adds up to bad choices and poor ability to think through the situation. I would be SO much more worried if we were talking a HS student behaving the same way, and yes, I do see this at the HS level, and worse, much worse. Be very grateful that there was no physical violence to contend with. Sorry, a rant of my own.