non-renewed--kiss of death in California

Discussion in 'General Education' started by BFGaloot, Apr 27, 2017.

1. BFGaloot

BFGaloot Rookie

Apr 27, 2017

I was given the option to quit and I didn't take it. I had read various threads on here and many suggested that not being renewed wasn't the end of the world.

But I have sent out dozens of applications, even had some great interviews, to get "sorry, no" emails the next day. I expec t they are calling my current principal, who has a strong dislike for me for no reason I can fathom.

I have two excellent reference letters from colleagues at my current school (a small continuation HS) including the other math teacher.

I figured that with credentials (clear) in both physics and math that I would easily get hired. If I wait until July when schools are more desperate, might I get an offer?

I have ten years of teaching experience with excellent references all along the way. This one principal appears to have ruined my teaching career. At age 55 I'm considering a third career. Maybe I'll do an apprenticeship as a machinist.

I'm incredibly discouraged and depressed about this. I absolutely love teaching, and the students can tell that I love teaching.

3. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Apr 27, 2017

Yeah, I think waiting until July is probably your best bet. I would just highlight your other experience other than the non-renewal one in your resume and references. Try to avoid mentioning your non-renewal in any way (though most applications directly ask you about it nowadays--I don't know if you're legally required to answer that question).

4. BFGaloot

BFGaloot Rookie

Apr 27, 2017

Yes, I'm legally required to answer that question and it is on every Edjoin application.

5. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Apr 27, 2017