Non-Renewed Advice Job Seeking

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by bakingfunmom, Jul 11, 2019.

1. bakingfunmom

bakingfunmom Rookie

Jul 11, 2019

Hi,
    I'm a fairly new teacher (this year coming up will be my 5th year). I worked in a school in 1st grade for 2 years. I didn't have much of a relationship with my Principal (he had social issues) but had a great one with my AP. My evaluations were fine and my Principal barely spent any time in my room this year. In a nutshell, my AP told me 2 months before the end of the school year that she was shocked to hear from the Principal that I was on the possible non-renewal list for this year. She said it was prob. my data scores. I explained my side and she said she'd speak to him. I wrote out a plan that I had for helping bring my students up. All seemed fine. I got sick and had meningitis and was out for a month. I don't know if that exasperated the situation and his feeling of me. One month before the end of the school year, I was brought in by him and told I was non renewed. I asked why. He said he didn't have to tell me by law. I held my head up high and taught until the final day which was about the hardest thing I've ever done (professionally).