non-renewal/resignation

Discussion in 'General Education' started by futureteach24, Feb 9, 2014.

1. futureteach24

futureteach24 Companion

Feb 9, 2014

I found out last week I can resign or be non-renewed. I am a 2nd year teacher that found myself in a bad position: no classroom, no textbooks, no content materials (unless I bought or borrowed them), and the "low track" classes. I was put on an action plan my first year for class management. Since then (and before), I worked diligently to get my skills up. In October, I called the union for help when the last two classes of the day were not going well. They came in and said there seemed to be a high concentration of kids that wouldn't "do what I asked because it seemed like a good idea". Their recommendation was to post the rules, remind them of the rules, and write referrals. I did as they asked but gave detentions vs. referrals because the admin support just isn't there. I also went to a class management conference, read an additional book, watched a DVD, did a lit review on management, etc. Things improved. They were not perfect but drastically better...all of my classes were functioning.