Non-renewal...kind of a weird situation...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by beatlebug731, Apr 16, 2016.

1. beatlebug731

beatlebug731 Comrade

Apr 16, 2016

I'm currently teaching special education (life skills) in an inner city high school. It's my first year at this school. My direct supervisor is an assistant principal and the principal is someone I see very rarely. I had an issue with one of my students developing bed sores and was placed on a PIP at around Christmas time. I worked very hard at improving what I was asked to improve. The improvements included pushing academics. I started doing that and I started seeing a lot of behaviors in my students (including leaving the classroom and walking outside). The assistant principal and I had discussed this and we agreed that this is why this is happening. I started getting sick from all of the stress and joint problems that I already have started to get worse. I was also given a lesson plan format that was approximately 30 pages long and I have only 2 assistants and at least one of them is out on jobsites a majority of the day. Back a couple of months ago, one of the administrators (idk who) had let one of my parents know some confidential information about me and the parent became confrontational with me. I documented the conversation stating that I had no idea where they got the info from. After this conversation with the parent, my assistant principal told me to join the union and brought the union rep into a conversation with the 2 of us. When I was informed of the nonrenewal, I was told that they were concerned about me and my health and the safety of the students. My class is now also combined with another teacher's class and we are still fighting the same behaviors. The principal does not have a special education background and does not understand that this is normal. When I was told this by the principal, she said that I'd basically be an aide in the classroom. However the assistant principal