Non-Renewal and Pregnant... Not sure where to turn

Discussion in 'General Education' started by BETS, Apr 1, 2017.

1. BETS

BETS Rookie

Apr 1, 2017

It's my first year at the district I am at. I'm a special education teacher and I love working with kids with special needs. I have been in a high school room, and while elementary is really my style (I have a elementary ed license as well), I have given this job my all. I go early, stay late, skip family wedding to not miss work, etc. My boss is aware that elementary is my thing, and I believe this has led to her being extremely antagonistic all year. I mean, I have constantly been watching over my shoulder all year. On the occasion early in the year I did make a mistake (and I fully own up to that), she put a memo in my file with inaccurate information. I did speak with the union about this so it is on file with them that she was threatening my job and giving inaccurate information. Right around the time this mistake was make, I found out I was pregnant. Hence the reason my brain was not functioning so well and it made it easier for me to make this mistake. Any moms out there I'm sure can relate to the initial pregnancy fuzz that is so disorienting. Especially because this is my first and while very welcomed by my husband and I, unexpected. Fast forward to just after Christmas break. I was 12 weeks pregnant and went in to tell her. I was TERRIFIED! I mean feeling sick to my stomach terrified. She put on a positive face, but she made some extremely inappropriate and unprofessional comments. The first thing she said was, "Was this planned?" I was so taken aback I answered honestly. She then followed this up with "instead of maternity leave have you considered taking a year off and maybe just subbing [which is though a nondistrict system, no benefits, etc.]. I think it's better for women if they take a year off for their babies anyway." I didn't respond because I was so floored. I didn't just finish up 2 Master's degr