Non "Halloween" gifts?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by princessbloom, Oct 24, 2014.

1. princessbloom

princessbloom Comrade

Oct 24, 2014

Hi everyone!
    I'd like to get my kids a little "fall" gift but it cannot be Halloween themed because I'm teaching in a Christian school this year. We can't even mention the word Halloween to our kids….(I'm Christian but do celebrate. Sigh.) ANYWAY, this is my first year at a Christian school. I was at public before so all my other ideas are out the window. What's going to be fun for kids to receive (and not costly, of course) but is more fall themed? I guess I could do just a candy bag but I wanted to see if anyone else had any other ideas besides just candy.

Thanks so much!

3. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Oct 24, 2014

There are lots of fall pencils out there. That might be an option.

4. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Oct 24, 2014

I teach in a Christian school too. We are not allowed to celebrate Halloween, but we use to several years ago. I enjoyed those years as I do not have a problem with Halloween and have always enjoyed the holiday. It is strange. In some ways it is the kindest holiday we have as it is the only day that we give gifts to all children that we don't know who show up at our door.

I would ask your P. Some Ps would be fine with your "fall" gift. I wouldn't take a chance though as some Ps really are strongly against Halloween (sigh). Since it is your 1st year at the school, I would especially be on the cautious side of this.

5. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Oct 24, 2014

A fall gift would probably be fine if it was given a week or two after or before Halloween. Otherwise, you could be seen as trying to circumvent the rules.

As for ideas, leaf themes are probably your safest bets. Pencils, memo pads, and things of that nature are probably safe, non-candy ideas.

6. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Oct 24, 2014