Non-Christmas Winter show

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Melodie, Jul 30, 2002.

1. Melodie

Melodie Guest

Jul 30, 2002

I am a new teacher at a private school in Texas. I will be teaching music to K-12 students. The school traditionally does a Christmas musical, however, I do not celebrate Christmas and would be uncomfortable putting on this kind of show. I am looking to do a Winter musical, with all seasonal peices. So far I have Jingle Bells, Winter Wonderland, Let it Snow, Over the River and Through the Woods. I also thought about doing a Thanksgiving show instead.

Does anyone have any ideas for me? I am having a hard time coming up with songs. I would really appreciate any suggestions!

Melodie

3. AngelaS

AngelaS Cohort

Jul 30, 2002

Our school (special ed ages 0-5) did a star theme ("Great Big Stars Way Up Yonder" was the theme song- I don't know where it came from but it was on a record). Everyone wore silver and gold glittery stars on their clothes. Other songs like the ones you mentioned were included, too.

The year before she kept this same theme and added holiday songs from around the world that the children either sang or accompanied a CD with musical instruments like rhythmn sticks. Christmas seemed less offensive somehow when many cultures' celebrations were included, as well as winter songs from cultures that don't celebrate Christmas.

I don't know how you could develop the star theme any further, but everyone really liked it because it reminded us of Christmas and Hanukkah and the whole winter night thing without being religious in the slightest. Good luck- I'm glad you're planning early!

4. Margo

Margo Devotee

Jul 30, 2002