No teacher desk?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by AKitchin, Jul 30, 2010.

1. AKitchin

AKitchin Companion

Jul 30, 2010

Those of you who have moved from having a teacher's desk, to not (like Debbie Diller says) how has that worked? I am considering doing that since I have SUCH a small room, and currently TWO teacher's desks... Do you use your reading table for those desk duties? I use my computer A LOT for my SMART board (where I keep notebook files for all of my science lessons) any ideas on how you've made this work? I really want to, but it seems hard to part with my desk!

3. tracykaliski

tracykaliski Connoisseur

Jul 30, 2010

Being a Montessori teacher, I've never had a desk. I have a closet where I keep all of my files, and I have a cabinet for storage of things I need to keep on hand like stapler, pens/pencils, etc.

4. mom2mikey

mom2mikey Cohort

Jul 30, 2010

I'm thinking to get rid of my desk this year as I have never used it and in the end it just gets things piled on it. Without a desk I am hoping that things get put away. I think the key is to find a home for everything that would typically be on your desk and make sure you put things away.

5. ChristyF

ChristyF Moderator

Jul 30, 2010

I'll use my table as needed for a writing area, but I have a rolling10 draw unit (metal frame, small-bright colored drawers) that holds my pens, pencils, etc. I didn't put anything on the table. My biggest issue with getting rid of mine was the storage. I never used the top (it was always covered in "stuff"). If you don't want to get rid of the desks, maybe you can convert them to have the tops empty, or almost empty and let them become center station (writing, etc) for the kids. That way you will have them, but thye are no longer just for you.

6. teachgrade5

teachgrade5 Comrade

Jul 30, 2010