No Snack?

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by MrsV, Aug 8, 2007.

1. MrsV

MrsV Rookie

Aug 8, 2007

Hey everyone,
    I am a first year teacher and I am currently writing my classroom handbook. I have debated and debated on snack in my classroom. I am leaning more towards not having snack.

We did snack for the first half of the year in my student teaching and it was horrible. We ended up with huge messes, it took way too much time to pass out and eat and the kids were very picky.

To add to this, I have just found out I have a child with a wide range of food allergies in my classroom.

Is it unheard of to not have snack in a first grade classroom?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 8, 2007

It's hard for me not to have a snack during the day. I'd really struggle if I couldn't have a little something during my prep period.

Snack shouldn't be a horrendously messy, chaotic time. Rather than doing away with it, you might consider implementing some new snack time procedures to help control it.

4. MsX

MsX Companion

Aug 8, 2007

I'm not a fan of having snack either though I've always had it. I've always just had kids bring in their own snack, but it is always an issue if someone forgets their snack. Also, sharing food can be a concern if there are allergies! I tell my kids that snack is a privelege and that if things are not cleaned up or behavior is poor during snack, we will not have it the next day. This has helped to keep things from being too messy (though you can't avoid a few accidents and spills!)

I'm sure it's not unheard of to not have snack, but you might have some hungry students (which impedes learning). When is your lunch? If it's early enough, perhaps that wouldn't be an issue though . Otherwise, you could just hand out a big pretzel stick or something small to tide them over if you didn't want to do a full-blown snack. These snacks could be donated by parents.

5. 1stferg

1stferg Comrade

Aug 8, 2007