NO LESSON PLANS!

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by Belum, Dec 8, 2007.

1. Belum

Belum New Member

Dec 8, 2007

I have been hired by a private school to teach mostly grade 7, but also alot of 8th grade, 1st grade Geography three times a week, and one ESL class every day. The teacher I replaced left NO lesson plans, no monthly or yearly plan. My degree is for k-6, so I've been scrambling for curriculum-based lesson plans for the older kids.

Also, the school is Muslim. The problems I've had is that the girls sometimes listen to their MP3 players in class (thinking I can't see them under their hijabs). I cannot remove their scarves, and when asked to remove the MP3s, they lie and say they aren't wearing them. The whole class is totally out of control, and I'm having no luck in this matter. Sending the kids to the office does nothing, and some of them are basically begging to be expelled. One mother will call up the principal crying if her son gets into trouble, so she's no help at all.

How can I teach unruly kids with no lesson plans? I've been trying desperately to come up with at least enough work to get us through until winter break, and I'll get the last half of the year done while I'm on holiday. But I find it hard to teach Canadian History (bo-ring!) and Geography.

This probably makes no sense because I'm braindead right now....

any advice (or curriculum-friendly lesson/unit plans -- I'm in Ontario, Canada) would be much appreciated!

3. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Dec 9, 2007

Sorry you have taken over such an unruly group of students. But - if the teacher left, you are now the teacher and you are responsible for lesson plans. I am not from Canada but many posters on this site are. Hopefully they will read your post and respond. If not, try reposting directing our post to Canadain teachers.

Try the internet - google "elementary Canadian History lesson plans" - does your dept of ed have a website that has a lesson plan bank.