No Interview yet...HELP!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by teachme2, Jun 4, 2007.

1. teachme2

teachme2 Rookie

Jun 4, 2007

I have applied to 4 different school districts in my area, filled out online apps, criminal background check and Gallup Assessment. Then I emailed my resume, letter of interest, Certification letter stating that I am Highly Qualified to several Principals and even called one school regarding a position, BUT I STILL HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM ANYONE!

I am making a career change and do not have any prior teaching experience.

Can someone give me some pointers or advice on how to get an interview? Should I hand deliver my portfolio next? If so, when? School is now out and I may have waited to late...

I REALLY need to find a job before this next year starts....

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Jun 4, 2007

I don't know what the job market looks like where you are, but 4 districts really isn't that many. I graduated in 2005 and have applied to 15 districts every spring/summer and although I've gotten interviews, I haven't been hired by a public school yet.

If it's possible, I would start hand delivering your paperwork to principals. I work full time all summer, though and by the time I'm out of work, the offices are closed so I don't have the opportunity. It could definitely be beneficial to you, though.

4. katrinkakat

katrinkakat Connoisseur

Jun 4, 2007

Have you guys done your credential program's already, or are you looking to intern teach? I am looking to intern teach and am waiting for CSET results in 2 weeks to start applying. In my area there are always openings once the year starts, so hopefully I will get one of those. Are they announcing job openings in these districts? Maybe you could visit the district offices and look at the employment bulletin board to find actual openings. Good luck to all!

5. teachme2

teachme2 Rookie

Jun 4, 2007