No Curriculum and Freaking out!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Busy Bug, Aug 2, 2014.

1. Busy Bug

Busy Bug Rookie

Aug 2, 2014

I have been hired for the middle school CD room. Mostly self contained class. This is my first year teaching. I will be teaching Lang Arts, Math, Social Studies, Reading, Environmental conservation, life skills, and functional skills each day. I have mostly 6th grade kids all day except for math and reading I have some 7th and 8th graders mixed into my 6 graders. The kids are at different learning levels. I have not been left with any curriculum. I don't know what to do. I'm freaking out at the aspect of zero curriculum to follow for 7 subjects and still needing to learn the legal IEP paperwork. Help how do new teachers find the correct curriculum?

3. ecteach

ecteach Devotee

Aug 2, 2014

Unfortunately I have never had a curriculum for any class I taught. This is my 9th year teaching special ed. The administration will always tell you, "Do what they need." It's good in a way, but also feels like a "cop out" at times. It makes life harder for us because we have to do everything from "scratch." Then again, most of the kids don't learn in the typical form or fashion, so teaching them a set curriculum probably wouldn't help anyway. You just have to get to know the kids and what they need.

Good luck!

4. Luv2TeachInTX

Luv2TeachInTX Comrade

Aug 2, 2014

You just have to follow the general curriculum that their grade level peers follow and modify it to their needs. Make sure you teach their IEP goals. There is no separate curriculum for special ed.

5. Busy Bug

Busy Bug Rookie

Aug 2, 2014

Thanks It helps to talk to you all on the forum. I am excited but feeling overwhelmed. I really appreciate the help and support.

6. Leatherette

Leatherette Comrade

Aug 4, 2014