NJ Mathematics teacher (soon to be)- Job search

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by gkis, Jun 23, 2015.

1. gkis

gkis Rookie

Jun 23, 2015

Here's my situation and I hope you can offer some advice: My CE was denied last year, I needed 8 more advanced Math credits in order to get it. I have now completed them, just waiting on the grade of the last class and will re-submit for CE in Mathematics. I have already passed my PRAXIS.

Unfortunately the way I see it, my last class' grade won't be available until beginning of July. Then I submit transcript to DoE and wait maybe another month or so until they issue my CE- summer is over.

I am wondering if I should/can try some local private/catholic schools. I have 15 years experience as data analyst and started working at the local community college as Adjunct instructor in Computer Basics in January 2015. I also have a few years of Math tutoring in my resume. I have a Bachelors in Economics and another Bachelors in information Systems.

How do you see my chances? Thanks in advance.

3. SCTeacher23

SCTeacher23 Comrade

Jun 23, 2015

From my experience, when I moved to NJ, I had an out of state certificate and I could not even get an interview until I had my NJ certificate in hand. However, I know that a lot of charter schools will hire without a certificate in hand, and some will even hire you and allow you up to a year to obtain your certificate. I work at a charter school that has hired teachers in your situation. If you want more information on the school specifically, PM me. They have multiple campuses within NY and NJ.

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Jun 23, 2015