Next Year

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by newengltchr, Nov 16, 2014.

1. newengltchr

newengltchr Rookie

Nov 16, 2014

Hello, everyone:

I currently teach 10th, 11th, and 12th grade, and this is my first year teaching. I was recently informed that I will not be teaching 10th grade next year, but I wish they didn't tell me! Now that I know I am not teaching that grade level, I have been putting much more time and effort into the other two grade levels that I teach. Has anyone else been in this situation? I am still planning for 10th grade, but it's probably not as detailed and engaging as it could be. I don't feel the need to spend all of my time planning for this class when I know I won't be teaching it next year. Any thoughts? Thank you.

3. newengltchr

newengltchr Rookie

Nov 16, 2014

My first and foremost goal is, of course, engagement and success; however, I find it extremely difficult to do this when I have three preps. It is not ideal for any teacher to have three different levels and focus areas. I would prefer one or two that I can eventually master.

Things could change, but the system that they are proposing will be much more effective. If it comes around in a couple of years, I will have more experience under my belt to prepare for the course. At this point in time, I am doing everything I can just to make it day by day.

4. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Nov 16, 2014