New uses for old things

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by Toast, Jun 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Toast

Toast Companion

Jun 25, 2011

As an elementary school teacher I am always intersted in ways to reuse items I would normally get rid of or throw away.

What are some random things you use in your classroom to guide your instruction or even just organize your space?

I reuse a couple of tissue boxes. It seems that plastic grocery bags always make their way into my classroom. Instead stuffing all the bags into one bag, I stuff them into an empty kleenex box. That way they are neatly put away and I can just pull one out if a kid needs a plastic bag.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 25, 2011

I used old frosting containers to store my bulletin board borders. I cut off a little section of border and tape/glue it to the outside of the container so that I know what's inside.

Next year I'm going to cut the tops off of old cereal boxes at an angle to make my own magazine storage containers. I'll decorate them up with some cute wrapping paper or something so that it doesn't look like I have random boxes of Special K all over my room.

4. Mrs.DLC

Mrs.DLC Comrade

Jun 25, 2011

We save water bottles(small one are easier)for our maracas. It's hard to get 35mm film canisters anymore, so I may need the bottles(cut)for our volcanoes!! I use oatmeal boxes as storage and we save Pringles can for our markers, words, etc. I reuse shoeboxes in many ways.(storage,dioramas, card boxes,etc.) The kids always enjoy reusing things to help the environment!!

5. ami6880

ami6880 Companion

Jun 25, 2011