New to Third Grade

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Dea_in_Third, Aug 10, 2005.

1. Dea_in_Third

Dea_in_Third New Member

Aug 10, 2005

My first post :) In just a few weeks, I will begin my first year of teaching in third grade. Besides getting reading for my first day of school activities, I do not know what I should purchase beforehand. Does anyone have any ideas on the types of things I should buy to set up my third grade classroom, such as the types of charts, alphabet charts, books, even carpets, etc? I would really appreciate any guidance anyone can offer or any sites you can direct me to. Anything to calm my nerves.

3. Julie

Julie Rookie

Aug 10, 2005

This is my first year at third too. I bought a cursive alphabet line, a carpet, and some charts: proofreading marks, cursvie chart, writing a letter chart. You might want to look at the curriculum and then go to a teacher store and see what is offered. Also, I bought a few resource books, some general ones on math, word problems, extention activities, literacy books, etc. Hope this helps. Finally, talk to the other 3rd grade teachers at your school and find out what they have.

4. Anne Marie

Anne Marie Rookie

Aug 10, 2005

I am new to 3rd as well. MY school has already started. I on the other hand went hog wild and bought too much stuff with my own money. I am glad I bought what I did, although, I still am in awe how fast the money goes! Look on your COS. I bought some multiplication things to hang up, things about writing, punctuation, nouns, verbs, etc. In my state we have to take a writing test in 3rd. So, the steps of writing would be helpful to have up in your room as well. Have plenty of chart paper, and sentence strips. Good luck. Although, I am needing it as well!

5. sammystar

sammystar New Member

Aug 15, 2005