New to the board and wanted to share my story

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by youmanj, Jul 2, 2010.

1. youmanj

youmanj Rookie

Jul 2, 2010

New to this board and I think that I am going to enjoy it very much. There seems to be alot of people willing to help others in need and thats a very welcoming sight.

I graduated in April and I have probably filled out around 20-30 applications to various districts around the US. I am from Michigan and well, we all know thats states reputation for teaching. I want to relocate and I am willing to do that for my job. I have kept in contact with a district in TX and it seems very promising. The process has been basically, send us your resume, fill out the application and see how your out of state certificate will work in TX. Well, my teaching certificate from what I heard, is recognized in TX, but I still have to apply for the 1 year TX certificate. So, after almost 300 bucks spent on getting all the applications and credentials sent to them, I should be receiving my teaching certificate from TX. I sent that info over to the hiring person in human resources and now the seem even more interested. I think it was because they wanted to make sure I had that 1 year certificate just to even be considered. Is that usually how it is? Anyways, the last words in her email was, "Hope to talk to you soon", so I'm very optimistic that this might end well. Once I have everything sent it, they will contact me for campus interviews. Is campus interviews, interviews with the principals? Just wondering. Well, thanks for taking the time to read this, I know it was alot, but I just wanted to share my story with everyone. Again, I look forward to more fruitful conversations with everyone in the future.

Matt

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 2, 2010

Hi, Matt, and welcome!

What do you teach?