New To Subbing

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by rlbbas123, Oct 29, 2006.

1. rlbbas123

rlbbas123 Rookie

Oct 29, 2006

Hi, everyone. I am new to subbing and so far I have only subbed for the HS in my area. I have enjoyed doing it so far and I have even decided to start back to college to start working towards my degree in education. My first week went ok, I tried to maintain a firm, but fair attitude with all the students that entered my class I was subbing for. The one thing I am learning is that they like to take bathroom breaks. Also, here are two problems I had encountered, 1st. I instructed a math class that there assignments were due by the end of the period and they were to turn them in. Everyone seemed ok with that, then a student informed me that she just received a text message from the "teacher" and that the assignment was actually due till tuesday. Talking about going over my head. 2nd. My home ec's class asked me if they could have their cake that was in the freezer. The students went on to say that the teacher wouldn't care because it was their cake and said that they could have it. At first I wasn't sure and hesitated, but they insisited it was their's and that she said they could have. I left that class feeling that I just had the wool pulled over on me.
    Does any one have any advice for a new sub that is trying to firm and fair at the same time. And How not to allow this to happen again. :confused:

3. MCWAG

MCWAG New Member

Oct 29, 2006

Firm but Fair