New to First Grade!

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by ready2teachintx, Jun 18, 2012.

1. ready2teachintx

ready2teachintx Companion

Jun 18, 2012

Hello!

I am excited to be a first grade teacher!! I am moving from Special Education Grades K -5th. Happy, Happy, Happy about the move!!!:haha:

I love the age of a first grade child!! Does anyone have any pointers for me???:unsure::thanks:

3. Kinderfriend

Kinderfriend Rookie

Jun 19, 2012

I have been teaching first grade for the past 9 years and I will admit it is the must rewarding grades one can teach. There is no other grade that you will notice significant shifts in behavior, physique and especially academics. It will be around the mid year when you notices that your students are reading more and more difficult books. You will also notice their independence .

You will love it.

4. mkbren88

mkbren88 Cohort

Jun 19, 2012

Oh how I love my first graders! I always knew I wanted to teach first grade, and that's what I did for the past 3 years. The growth you see in first grade from beginning to end is tremendous! Just be patient, and have a notebook handy for all the things they say! They are very open and honest! You will absolutely LOVE it! I'm hoping I love Kindergarten as much as I have loved 1st grade.

5. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jun 19, 2012

I never saw myself teaching first grade - I wanted to do older kiddos and do literature circles; however, I have been teaching first grade for the past four years! I absolutely love most of it! The main problem area for me is that they are such babies when they come to us in the fall. Explicit instruction means exactly that - explicit! They need to be told, shown, and to practice every procedure many times before you can count on them to remember to do it correctly, and not always then. That being said, though, I LOVE the phenomenal amount of growth, physical, academic, and philosophical that the kiddos experience during the first grade year!