New to Early Childhood Teaching- Need Crash Course on Lesson Planning

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by xingxin, Sep 4, 2011.

1. xingxin

xingxin New Member

Sep 4, 2011

Hello fellow educators!

I am a special education teacher who just moved from several years of teaching in the middle grades to pre-school teaching. This year I'm teaching 4 y/o in a school closer to where I live.

I have taught special ed early grades prior to special ed middle school level, but I have been so used to teaching middle school grades that I really feel I absolutely need a crash course on teaching pre-k!

I have wonderful coteachers who are always willing to help. They also help me set my classroom up in terms of centers. I am learning about these things as I go along, but I hope to learn ahead that's why I joined this forum.

I guess my question is can you suggest activities for me to give them. I am a little bit challenged by the lesson planning, simply because my mind is still used to middle school age activities and I am still in the process of pulling my mind to a younger level of activities.

Take this for example: our first theme is Back to School. We are going to learn about school, feelings, family, the letter A and circle. If I were to think of activities for these, I can only think of coloring pages and worksheets (tracing letter, tracing circle, etc). If you have time, can you please help me plan activities for the following?

- Feelings
    -Family
    - Letter A (aside from tracing)
    - Circle

I am considering this as a crash course. I am positive that eventually, I'll get the hang of thinking of activities for them. But for now, I'm hoping to get some help.

Thank you very much and God bless everyone! :)

3. kpa1b2

kpa1b2 Aficionado

Sep 4, 2011

Feelings: talk about your feelings. Give them words to use (mad, angry, silly, happy, sad etc). Read books about feelings. There's a song about feelings, it's on a Greg & Steve or a Hap Palmer CD I think.