New to 5th

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by Deeena, Aug 4, 2007.

1. Deeena

Deeena Cohort

Aug 4, 2007

Hi everyone,

Last school year I taught kinder and then I got a job at another school district. They originally told me that I would be teaching 2nd, however, they called yesterday and said I will most likely be teaching 5th (however it could still change). I'm a little nervous about this grade b/c I feel like I'm a stronger primary teacher. I'm definitely ready to give it a shot and excited about the new challenge. I was wondering if any of you would be willing to share your behavior management plans and what type of activities you will do with your students the first day/couple of days of school. Also, what can I expect from this age group? Any other helpful information you are willing to share will be appreciated. Thanks!

3. uclalum

uclalum Groupie

Aug 7, 2007

First Day of School
    Math-
    We do whole class graphing-How long have have you been at ____Elementary School? Who has brother/sister? I bought thegigantic graphying paper from Lakeshore.
    I also give them math assessments to determine who knows their basic facts.
    Reading/Lang Arts
    I do the Unit Opener in Open Court and we browse the stories we will be reading during the unit. Trend has gigantic KWL charts and we do a kwl about our first unit
    The kids also write a letter to themselves about what they think their year will be like, their goals, etc. This gives me a good idea of the kinds of writersI have. (I save the letters for the last day of school)
    I also have the kids fill out a multiple intelligence survey and an interest survey.
    I plan to play a little game that I read on here where you tell the kids 3 things about you and then they try to guess which two are true and which one is false.
    I show them a powerpoint that tells them about me, tells them the classroom rules, and gives an outline to what we will be studying this year.