New to 3rd grade, need help with centers

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by TeachK36, Jul 22, 2009.

1. TeachK36

TeachK36 Rookie

Jul 22, 2009

Hi all-
    I am a first year teacher going to be teaching 3rd grade. I have met with some of my fellow team members before the end of the year in June (but they were anxious for school to be over and I was excited for it to begin) so I feel kinda out of the loop on what the game plan is this year. I know that they work a lot with centers during their literacy block. Any ideas on what kind of centers I should have? I have some ideas but wanted some advice. Thanks I appreciate it! :)

Any other advice for teaching 3rd grade would be appreciated as well.

3. newbie23

newbie23 Comrade

Jul 23, 2009

IMO Centers are awesome! They really allow you to differentiate in a discrete way and students enjoy feeling "independent" during them. One suggestion that I would make is to have a "teacher group." I did a research paper on centers during my ST and tried a variety of make-ups and found that this is one thing that helped to keep consistency. During teacher group you take 1 group of the students and work on a specific skill that they might need help on. Basically it's your time to work on whatever help they might need.

Another thing to keep in mind is making your groups as flexible as possible. It's tempting to keep students in groups based solely on ability but I've found that sometimes mixed-ability groups really challenge all students as the higher kids have to communicate what they know to help extend the thinking of the other students. We all know it's one thing to "know" something and another to explain it.