New teacher's question about reporting neglect

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Sterling1201, Jun 5, 2016.

1. Sterling1201

Sterling1201 Rookie

Jun 5, 2016

I am in my 1st year of teaching and I had to make a DSS report on possible neglect of a 3 year old. I'm assuming my name won't be shared with the parents but they probably suspect me and will be very angry with me. (I understand their anger. I would be too.) My question is, How do I respond to them when they come to school tomorrow angry and act out in my classroom? I hate confrontations but I can't avoid this. Any suggestions would be helpful.

3. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Jun 5, 2016

First of all, if you can, avoid being the only other adult in the room with them. Better still... if you can avoid speaking to them at all, make that your goal! But... if it can't be avoided...try to turn off your own anger/frustration at the situation so that your adrenaline isn't surging. It will keep you from getting defensive. When they come in and say, "did you call CPS on us" respond with a question. Say, "wait... what happened?" Let them start talking about the incident. Ask them more questions, and try to show genuine concern about the situation, "what happened then... what did they say...", etc. The more they talk about it, the more likely they are to calm down, especially if they sense your are concerned (which is real, because you are deeply concerned about their child).

Reagan and Sterling1201 like this.
  4. Sterling1201

Sterling1201 Rookie

Jun 5, 2016

Thank you so much for responding. I've email a few veteran teachers and no one has offered any suggestions. Your advice is excellent. Thank you!!!

5. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Jun 5, 2016