New Teachers are Suckers

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by PinkCupcake, May 10, 2011.

1. PinkCupcake

PinkCupcake Cohort

May 10, 2011

I'm a first year teacher. Don't get me wrong I think my teaching team is great although there have been differences from time to time. Sometimes I feel like I get suckered or stuck with doing certain things.
    I was the one who had to represent our grade level at the last PTA program. I am single and have no children of my own. Everyone else had a family related reason why they couldn't attend. A general ed teacher is needed at an ARD this week and surprise surprise I'm going to that too. We received an initital email asking for a volunteer then everyone started replying with excuses for it.
    I realize I don't have as much experience as others, and I don't want this post to sound like I'm complaning about my job.
    Any other new teachers feel they get magically "volunteered" for doing things?

3. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

May 10, 2011

My principal at my old school didn't make new teachers join any committees. He said that we had enough to worry about.

4. Scott71

Scott71 Rookie

May 10, 2011

It is just a part of life in the teaching field. You have to earn your stripes. ;)

5. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

May 10, 2011

When I was a new teacher, I actually jumped at the chance to prove myself to the team-I volunteered for a lot of things they didn't want to do. Sometimes just for the experience of it.

Our school hasn't been so lucky in our new teachers the past few years-they don't really contribute at all-even when asked.

6. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

May 10, 2011

I think that working many of the events and extras as a new teacher is just part of the experience. Many of our newer teachers don't in the building I currently work in, but in my old building, the new teachers were basically volunteered for everything.

7. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

May 10, 2011