New teacher...wondering would you ever say this to a student?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by misswright, Jul 23, 2007.

1. misswright

misswright New Member

Jul 23, 2007

I am a first year teacher and will begin this fall. I will be teaching mostly sophomores and a few seniors in high school. Anyway, I have a 'mentor' teacher who I can go to for help. I talked to her on the phone a few weeks ago and she seemed very nice. She and I met for lunch today at her suggestion. She seems like a great and very intelligent teacher. We went to a restuarant and she saw a former student. About halfway through lunch this former student (I'm not sure if she graduated or is still in the school) came up to us. She told my mentor teacher she was still her favorite teacher. My mentor teacher hugged the girl and warmly told her that she loved her. I was in shock. All my training and education schooling told me never to hug a student let alone ever say something like that to a student. I tried very hard to mask my shock but I guess it must have showed because after the student left the teacher asked me if something was wrong. I know I shouldn't have said anything but I just said "aren't you afraid that hugging a student could get you into trouble?" but she just laughed and said that nearly no one follows the "don't get attached to your students" rule. She said the girl was one of her favorites and that once I begin my career I will see there are certain students I will feel very attached to. I don't want to be the next news story or anything. I don't believe that this teacher, or most other teachers for that matter, had bad intentions but I would be more afraid of the way other adults interpreted it. I guess it's hard to say that you'd never hug a student. But would you ever seriously tell a student that you love them??

3. stephenpe

stephenpe Connoisseur

Jul 23, 2007

I hug almost all of my ex students and if they say they love